Zudio Garage®
Zudio Garage®
Zudio Garage®
Zudio is a sleek and modern garage portfolio showcasing innovative automotive designs. With its bold layout, it’s the perfect space for enthusiasts and builders to display their work.
Zudio is a sleek and modern garage portfolio showcasing innovative automotive designs. With its bold layout, it’s the perfect space for enthusiasts and builders to display their work.
Zudio is a sleek and modern garage portfolio showcasing innovative automotive designs. With its bold layout, it’s the perfect space for enthusiasts and builders to display their work.



Role
Business
Business
Research
Research
Research
Zudio explores the intersection of automotive design and innovation, providing a platform to research cutting-edge garage projects, custom builds, and engineering solutions. This portfolio serves as a hub for those passionate about the evolution of car culture, from conceptual designs to functional masterpieces.
objectives
objectives
objectives
A large part of the cancellation problem stemmed from SIXT failing to communicate details regarding the pick-up process with their customers.
A discussion with C-level led us to prioritize on fixing transactional emails to help solve the following:
Primary objective: Reducing vehicle booking cancellations at airports.
Secondary objective: Reducing the number of inbound calls to SIXT Agents at the airport counters.
Design
Design
Design
Zudio’s design is a perfect blend of minimalism and bold aesthetics, allowing the focus to stay on the project work. The layout incorporates spacious grids and high-quality visuals that bring the automotive designs to life, creating an engaging experience for users. The color scheme is carefully selected to evoke a sense of sophistication, while smooth transitions and animations add a modern touch.
Cognitive overload:
Customers were receiving way too much unstructured information from each email sent after their booking, which made it easy to miss out on important details.
Negative surprises:
New customers had no idea about the pre-arrival email which provided further information on the required documents and expectations for vehicle pick-up, while returning customers often got confused or frustrated with the irregular timing of the pre-arrival email.
Cognitive overload:
Customers were receiving way too much unstructured information from each email sent after their booking, which made it easy to miss out on important details.
Negative surprises:
New customers had no idea about the pre-arrival email which provided further information on the required documents and expectations for vehicle pick-up, while returning customers often got confused or frustrated with the irregular timing of the pre-arrival email.


Development
Development
Development
Insight gathering
We used Litmus to track email engagement insights from both the old and the new booking journeys.
We also tracked conversion for Mobile-checkin CTA, where customers could sign up for a faster vehicle pickup experience.
Content & Structure Optimization
We simplified messaging to highlight key actions with a clearer visual hierarchy.
Also focused on readability by using bold headers, contrasting colors and spacing to emphasize critical information.
Refined Email Sequence and Timing
Adjusted email delivery times to align better with user behavior and expectations.
The pre-arrival email was now renamed into 'What to bring' email and was sent immediately after the confirmation email, while a reminder email was sent only when customers made a booking 2 days before pick-up.
The mobile check-in email was now sent exactly 2 hours before pickup, allowing users to choose their vehicle in advance, addressing a key pain point.
a system for scale
We worked on defining principles for building better emails. This helped us scale our success from the booking experience into others, while maintaining consistency and effective language for our customers.
Images below illustrate the new Confirmation, What to bring & Reminder emails and their schedules from the improved booking journey. Below, you will also find our principles for building emails.
Insight gathering
We used Litmus to track email engagement insights from both the old and the new booking journeys.
We also tracked conversion for Mobile-checkin CTA, where customers could sign up for a faster vehicle pickup experience.
Content & Structure Optimization
We simplified messaging to highlight key actions with a clearer visual hierarchy.
Also focused on readability by using bold headers, contrasting colors and spacing to emphasize critical information.
Refined Email Sequence and Timing
Adjusted email delivery times to align better with user behavior and expectations.
The pre-arrival email was now renamed into 'What to bring' email and was sent immediately after the confirmation email, while a reminder email was sent only when customers made a booking 2 days before pick-up.
The mobile check-in email was now sent exactly 2 hours before pickup, allowing users to choose their vehicle in advance, addressing a key pain point.
a system for scale
We worked on defining principles for building better emails. This helped us scale our success from the booking experience into others, while maintaining consistency and effective language for our customers.
Insight gathering
We used Litmus to track email engagement insights from both the old and the new booking journeys.
We also tracked conversion for Mobile-checkin CTA, where customers could sign up for a faster vehicle pickup experience.
Content & Structure Optimization
We simplified messaging to highlight key actions with a clearer visual hierarchy.
Also focused on readability by using bold headers, contrasting colors and spacing to emphasize critical information.
Refined Email Sequence and Timing
Adjusted email delivery times to align better with user behavior and expectations.
The pre-arrival email was now renamed into 'What to bring' email and was sent immediately after the confirmation email, while a reminder email was sent only when customers made a booking 2 days before pick-up.
The mobile check-in email was now sent exactly 2 hours before pickup, allowing users to choose their vehicle in advance, addressing a key pain point.
a system for scale
We worked on defining principles for building better emails. This helped us scale our success from the booking experience into others, while maintaining consistency and effective language for our customers.




What did we achieve?
What did we achieve?
What did we achieve?
After implementing the redesigned communication journey for the vehicle booking experience, we launched a controlled test for a sample size of 850 customers arriving at Munich and Amsterdam airports.
The results were observed for a month and here are the details:
Booking Cancellations
Old journey: 17% cancellation rate (avg. of month of Feb 2020 - 2022)
New journey: 11% cancellation rate (month of Feb 2023)
Email Engagement
Open rates:
Confirmation & What to bring emails: 65% (no change)
Mobile check-in email: Increased from 65% to 70% (after subject-line experiments)
Click-through rates (CTR):
Confirmation email CTR increased from 11% to 16%
Mobile check-in email CTR increased from 21% to 24%
Business impact
Avg. monthly rentals at Munich & Amsterdam airports (Feb) = 10,500 & 11,000 respectively.
21,500 rentals in total across both airports.
Avg. rental cost at both airports = 280 Euro
17% of rentals cancelled = 3655 rentals
Loss from rentals cancelled = 3655 * 280 = 1,023,400 Euro
11% of rentals cancelled = 2365 rentals
Loss from rentals cancelled = 2365 * 280 = 662,200 Euro
Fixing the email journey of just the booking experience has made a difference of 361,200 Euro in revenue retention.
Images below illustrate the different iterations for the Confirmation email, and myself collaborating with UserZoom (now acquired by UserTesting) to test our hypothesis in the US market early 2023.
After implementing the redesigned communication journey for the vehicle booking experience, we launched a controlled test for a sample size of 850 customers arriving at Munich and Amsterdam airports.
The results were observed for a month and here are the details:
Booking Cancellations
Old journey: 17% cancellation rate (avg. of month of Feb 2020 - 2022)
New journey: 11% cancellation rate (month of Feb 2023)
Email Engagement
Open rates:
Confirmation & What to bring emails: 65% (no change)
Mobile check-in email: Increased from 65% to 70% (after subject-line experiments)
Click-through rates (CTR):
Confirmation email CTR increased from 11% to 16%
Mobile check-in email CTR increased from 21% to 24%
Business impact
Avg. monthly rentals at Munich & Amsterdam airports (Feb) = 10,500 & 11,000 respectively.
21,500 rentals in total across both airports.
Avg. rental cost at both airports = 280 Euro
17% of rentals cancelled = 3655 rentals
Loss from rentals cancelled = 3655 * 280 = 1,023,400 Euro
11% of rentals cancelled = 2365 rentals
Loss from rentals cancelled = 2365 * 280 = 662,200 Euro
Fixing the email journey of just the booking experience has made a difference of 361,200 Euro.
After implementing the redesigned communication journey for the vehicle booking experience, we launched a controlled test for a sample size of 850 customers arriving at Munich and Amsterdam airports.
The results were observed for a month and here are the details:
Booking Cancellations
Old journey: 17% cancellation rate (avg. of month of Feb 2020 - 2022)
New journey: 11% cancellation rate (month of Feb 2023)
Email Engagement
Open rates:
Confirmation & What to bring emails: 65% (no change)
Mobile check-in email: Increased from 65% to 70% (after subject-line experiments)
Click-through rates (CTR):
Confirmation email CTR increased from 11% to 16%
Mobile check-in email CTR increased from 21% to 24%
Business impact
Avg. monthly rentals at Munich & Amsterdam airports (Feb) = 10,500 & 11,000 respectively.
21,500 rentals in total across both airports.
Avg. rental cost at both airports = 280 Euro
17% of rentals cancelled = 3655 rentals
Loss from rentals cancelled = 3655 * 280 = 1,023,400 Euro
11% of rentals cancelled = 2365 rentals
Loss from rentals cancelled = 2365 * 280 = 662,200 Euro
Fixing the email journey of just the booking experience has made a difference of 361,200 Euro.


Concept
Concept
Concept
The concept behind Zudio is to create a visually striking platform that embodies the spirit of innovation and craftsmanship in the automotive world. Designed with clean lines and a modern aesthetic, Zudio offers a space where garage projects can be displayed with clarity and impact. It emphasizes the artistry involved in every build, highlighting the meticulous attention to detail that goes into automotive creations.